Mother, Mogul, MVP?

 

© Copyright WWW.YESLIONESS.COM 2015 (2)

Greetings Y’all!

Today is the first time I have ever talked about the other side of my life. The daily juggling act that I perform at Yes Lioness as a Mother, Artist & Business Woman. Ahhh… the glamorous life! NOT lol! In between being a creative and entrepreneur, I spend a lot of time tying shoe laces, putting band aids on invisible boo boos, reading stories out load and being a playmate to my 4 year old daughter.

Let me be clear here…there is no balance to this life. For me there is only re-prioritizing on a moments notice whenever necessary. Sometimes SHE is “The Boss” of my company. What I mean by that is, if the day care calls me and tells me that she has a temperature, that means, I’m out of commission for the rest of the day. If I’m working on a project and she asks me to read her a story, that means I’m about to take a break and when she wants to go to the park to play on the swings…I gotta go.

Inconvenient, YES. Counterproductive, Sure. A pain in the neck sometimes…YUP! Being a Mom has had the single greatest impact on the growth of Yes Lioness over the past 5 years. In many ways, it has slowed me down a lot. In other ways it has made me more focused and strategic about how I spend my time and effort. It has been a test of my will and resolve to keep up. It has also showed me what I was made of literally and figuratively. She is made up of me, and not only biologically. My thoughts create her world. The words she speaks, the environment that she experiences, her memory and mindset all depend on me.

At the same time, I am her. I get to see the world from a fresh pair of eyes all over again. I get to relive all the best things about my childhood (like water sprinklers in the Summer and cherry ices) I also get to be the one to comfort her if she is scared and cheer her on with every little accomplishment. Sometimes I make the right decisions and sometimes, i have to make my decision right. Don’t get me wrong, I am not a single parent by any means. But I am the Mom, so ultimately it all falls on my shoulders.

YUP! My Art, My Business and my child are all my babies, 1, 2 & 3! I wanted and want it all and still do. So yes, sometimes I think about when I was single, childless and free. When I could spend all day or all night doing whatever. But I have already collected sand at both the foot of The Great Pyramid in Egypt and on many beaches all over The Caribbean islands.I have lived!  I m privileged and feel humble yet grand every time I wipe her runny nose, hear her laugh or make a sacrifice on her behalf. Never have I loved anyone so worthy or served so selflessly. As an entrepreneur I love what I do, as a Mother, I Love who I have become.

mom day me copy

Blessings,                                                                                                                                                             Yes Lioness                                                                                                                                                           WWW.YESLIONESS.COM

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Mother, Mogul, MVP?

Leave a Reply

