Happily Natural Day/Black August ATL…


This is Adaora, a long time supporter of Yes Lioness a poet and crochet artist that makes the Bangin’ adornments she is rocking with her Yes Lioness t-shirt!
Check her work out at: http://www.cartfly.com/adaornment
I had the honor of meeting her at Happily Natural Day in Atlanta,GA over the weekend.

I think that was my last Festival for this Summer. Although there may be one more left in me..”House in the Park” in ATL??? In anycase, it has been good meeting people and letting sistas that have never even heard of Yes Lioness know that it exists from NY, to NC, to ATL.

This past weekend I attended & was a vendor at Happily Natural Day in Atlanta. It was not at all what I expected. I thought it was going to be scores of sistas sporting afros and t-shirts with slogans that read “Happy To Be Nappy” and “I Love My Afro”. Real Cute Stuff, but basically a nappy picnic. Just a lot of what I call (forgive me for saying) “Afrocentric-Vanity”. Yeah, okay I did say it. Don’t be offended, it’s true. Yes, although being natural and natural hair is beautiful it’s become a style that is more about ” A Look” then a mindset. A lot of sisters wearing naturals these days are just trying to emulate the outward appearance of another sister, it’s not that deep.

It’s becoming trendy, and trends tend not to have much substance (although this is a step). I’ve been wearing my hair natural for 20 years but it was Malcolm and the appreciation for all things BLACK that inspired me to change my mind and then my hair. The new wave of “slick & wavy,soft & slippery, mixed & cooley” hair products out right now is just the 2010 jheri curl. Just do you, whether your hair is natty,wavy,curly or like mine, all of the above! Care for it & LOVE IT!

However, the Happily Natural Day event in ATL, was far from superficial. This was not just about natural this was about REAL. Which is not necessarily the same thing, ya feel me? This was more about social, political community activism, remembering & freeing political prisoners, caring for our children and changing some of our negative ways. People came from all over and it was worth it. WOW, Now THAT’S FLY. There were AWESOME poets & performers, really saying something relevant. There were speakers, and discussions that were insightful and thought provoking. It wasn’t just about food & vendors it was informative & motivating. I was able to meet the founder of the event Duron Chavis there and he talked about how the event has grown and spread from his vision to what it is today.

As a vendor I had no idea that it was not going to be about sales but about the MOVEMENT. I also met people that I need to know, in order to fulfill my own mission about uplifting African people and Women in particular. When you love what you do, your profit is spiritual, your prosperity is intangible.

Now don’t get me wrong..Funds Finance a Revolution! However, the Revolution must first begin with the MIND. It’s not about the colors RED BLACK & GREEN, it’s about what they represent THE BLOOD, THE PEOPLE & THE LAND.

If you missed it check out the upcoming Happily Natural Day in Richmond,Virginia August 27th to 29th, where it all started!
http://happilynaturalday.com
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=24448418659

One Black Love

3 Comments

Filed under yeslioness.com

3 responses to “Happily Natural Day/Black August ATL…

  1. Give thanks for the deep meditation put into organizing, keeping and upholding, and finally putting it into words, the events of Happily Natural Day 2010 in Atlanta, GA. The event was a success, give nuff thanks! I’m also giving thanks to Yes Lioness for such positive thoughts on the whole event which was celebrating Black August, and the whole Black Power movements to free our African people from mental, physical, and spiritual enslavement. Uhuru na Umoja! Free the people.
    Rastafari!

  2. Yes, Give Thanks & Respect for the Support!

  3. Ty

    ” I also met people that I need to know, in order to fulfill my own mission about uplifting African people and Women in particular. When you love what you do, your profit is spiritual, your prosperity is intangible.

    Now don’t get me wrong..Funds Finance a Revolution! However, the Revolution must first begin with the MIND. It’s not about the colors RED BLACK & GREEN, it’s about what they represent THE BLOOD, THE PEOPLE & THE LAND.”
    So beYOUtiFULL! So blessed to see we still have people who are beyond true to the needs of our people.

    Continued Blessings.
    Peace & Prosperity

Leave a Reply

